A RESOLUTION

establishing the Mayor's Task Force on the U.S.S. Columbia.

WHEREAS, on April 4, 1994, Resolution No. 74-94 was introduced by Mayor Mary Anne McCollum and adopted by the City Council to establish the U.S.S. Columbia commissioning committee; and

WHEREAS, the founding chairs of the committee were John Clark, Anne Clark, George Trial, Nadine Trial, and WWII submariner Harold Mauller; and

WHEREAS, the continuing purpose of the U.S.S. Columbia commissioning committee is to maintain a positive relationship between the City of Columbia, Missouri, and the crew of the U.S.S. Columbia and the cities of Columbia, Illinois, and Columbia, South Carolina as part of the U.S. Navy's Namesake City Program; and

WHEREAS, the City Council wishes to more clearly define the structure, membership, duties and responsibilities of the U.S.S. Columbia commissioning committee in accordance with updated city, state and federal regulations.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBIA, MISSOURI, AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. There is hereby established the Mayor's Task Force on the U.S.S. Columbia. The purpose of the Task Force is to maintain positive relationships between the City of Columbia, the U.S. Navy, and the crew of the U.S.S. Columbia, as well as the cities of Columbia, Illinois, and Columbia, South Carolina as it pertains to the U.S.S. Columbia.

SECTION 2. The Mayor's Task Force on the U.S.S. Columbia shall be composed of nine (9) members who shall have an interest in advocating for the continued positive relationship between the City of Columbia and the U.S.S. Columbia. Members shall be appointed by the Mayor. After the initial appointment of members and upon a vacancy, the Task Force shall send a recommendation to the Mayor for any new appointment. addition to the nine (9) members, the President of Columbia College shall appoint one (1) nonvoting ex-officio member and the Commanding Officer of the Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC) program on the University of Missouri-Columbia campus shall appoint one (1) nonvoting ex-officio member. A quorum to hold a meeting shall consist of five (5) voting members. All meetings shall be open to involvement and participation by as many additional interested community members who desire to attend.

SECTION 3. The initial nine (9) appointees to the Mayor's Task Force on the U.S.S. Columbia are as follows: Anne Moore - Chair John Clark Anne Clark Peter Koukola William Markgraf Robert Ross **Becky Strauss** Marty Walker Chris Kelly SECTION 4. The Task Force shall be dissolved upon the decommissioning of the U.S.S. Columbia. SECTION 5. The Task Force shall be provided reasonable staff support. ADOPTED this ______, 2016. ATTEST: Mayor and Presiding Officer City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

City Counselor