

## City of Columbia

701 East Broadway, Columbia, Missouri 65201

Department Source: City Clerk To: City Council From: City Manager & Staff Council Meeting Date: January 6, 2025 Re: Downtown CID Board of Directors – Annual Membership

### **Executive Summary**

The Downtown Community Improvement District (CID) Board of Directors has submitted a slate of proposed Board of Director members to the Mayor for consideration for appointment.

#### Discussion

The Downtown CID was established by ordinance on February 7, 2011, and it provided for fifteen Board of Directors members. The initial fifteen members were appointed by the ordinance establishing the Downtown CID to staggering terms of one, two, and three years.

Current Board of Director members are: Russell Boyt (Term ending February 6, 2025) Danielle Little (Term ending February 6, 2025) Sarah Johnson (Term ending February 6, 2025) Mike Nolan (Term ending February 6, 2025) Tootie Burns (Term ending February 6, 2025) Deb Rust (Term ending February 6, 2026) Dimetrous Woods (Term ending February 6, 2026) Morgan Wright (Term ending February 6, 2026) Mikel Fields (Term ending February 6, 2026) Lara Pieper (Term ending February 6, 2026) Aric Jarvis (Term ending February 6, 2027) Jamie Varvaro (Term ending February 6, 2027) Jesse Slade (Term ending February 6, 2027) Kathleen Murphy (Term ending February 6, 2027) Kenny Greene (Term ending February 6, 2027)

The qualifications to serve on the Board of Directors are set out in the Downtown CID petition and state law. It is required that each director be at least 18 years of age and be either an owner of real property within the District, an owner of a business operating within the District, or a registered voter residing in the District, all as defined in the CID Act (Section 67.1401 RSMo. et seq.).

The petition governing the formation of the Downtown CID provides the appointment process of members to the Board of Directors. Upon submission of a slate of successor directors by the Downtown CID to the Mayor, the Mayor (with the consent of the City Council) shall approve the appointments or request alternates be submitted by the



### City of Columbia

701 East Broadway, Columbia, Missouri 65201

Downtown CID Board of Directors. The approval or request for alternates is required to occur within 30 days of submission of names by the Downtown CID.

If there is a request for alternative names, the Downtown CID Board of Directors shall resubmit the slate with alternates, and the Mayor shall choose appointees from the names submitted and seek the consent of the City Council. The City Council can accept or refuse consent of the slate submitted by the Mayor. If the City Council refuses to consent to the slate, within ten days, the Mayor shall request alternatives from the Downtown CID Board of Directors.

The Downtown CID submitted a slate of five candidates on December 12, 2024 to be appointed for terms beginning February 7, 2025 and ending February 6, 2028, and that slate includes Russell Boyt, Tootie Burns, Mike Nolan, Mary Stauffer, and Zach Wagner.

Fiscal Impact

Short-Term Impact: N/A Long-Term Impact: N/A

Strategic & Comprehensive Plan Impact

### Strategic Plan Impacts:

Primary Impact: Not Applicable, Secondary Impact: Not Applicable, Tertiary Impact: Not Applicable

### Comprehensive Plan Impacts:

Primary Impact: Not Applicable, Secondary Impact: Not applicable, Tertiary Impact: Not Applicable

Legislative History		
Date	Action	
February 7, 2011	Ord. No. 020866 – Approving the petition requesting the formation of the Downtown CID; establishing the District as a political subdivision of the State of Missouri	
February 17, 2020	REP6-20 – Appointment of Deb Rust, Kenny Greene, Heather McGee, Mikel Fields, and Josh Safranski to terms ending February 6, 2023.	
December 7, 2020	REP77-20 – Appointment of Aric Jarvis, Mike McClung, Van Hawxby, Chrystal Graves-Fazici, and Lydia Melton to terms ending February 6, 2024.	



# City of Columbia 701 East Broadway, Columbia, Missouri 65201

December 5, 2021	REP13-21 – Appointment of Lara Pieper to the term ending February 6, 2023 due to the resignation of Josh Safranski.
January 3, 2022	REP1-22 – Appointment of Russell Boyt, Camellia Cosgray, Rachael Norden, Danielle Little, and Sarah Johnson to terms ending February 6, 2025. Also, appointment of Kathleen Murphy to the term ending February 6, 2024 due to the resignation of Chrystal Graves Yazici.
July 5, 2022	REP55-22 – Appointment of Charles Bruce to the term ending February 6, 2024 due to the resignation of Lydia Melton.
December 19, 2022	REP104-22 – Appointment of Deb Rust, Dimetrious Woods, Lara Pieper, Mikel Fields, and Morgan Wright to terms ending February 6, 2026. Also, the appointment of Mike Nolan to the term ending February 6, 2025 due to the resignation of Camellia Cosgray.
November 20, 2023	REP66-23 – Appointment of Jesse Slade, Jamie Varvaro, Aric Jarvis, Kathleen Murphy, and Kenny Greene to terms ending February 6, 2027. Also the appointment of Tootie Burns to the term ending February 6, 2025 due to the resignation of Rachael Norden.

Suggested Council Action

Either make the appointments as suggested by the Downtown CID or request alternates as allowed per the petition.