

City of Columbia, Missouri

Meeting Minutes

Youth Advisory Council

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 6:00 PM

Regular

Conference Room 1A/1B Columbia City Hall 701 E. Broadway

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 pm. Lexi Camp arrived at 6:30 pm. Marissa Krause arrived 7:13 pm.

Present: 18 - Micah Prenger, Lexi Camp, Will Cover, Memphis Cutchlow, Estrella San Juan-Rodriguez, Rachael Erickson, Ismael Rashid, James Glaser, Genevieve Harline, Hope Keithahn, Henry Koenig, Julia Koldobskiy, Marissa Kraus, Amanda Kurukulasuriya, Sarvika Mahto, Amira McKee, Drew Morris and Lydia Olmsted

Absent: 3 - Jared Loveless, Riley Cole and Laura Frymire

Non-Voting:

4 - Matt Leuchtmann, Ron Rowe, Virgina Lennon and Betsy Peters

II. INTRODUCTIONS

Visitors in attendance introduced themselves.

III. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Micah Prenger made a motion to approve the agenda. Will Cover seconded the motion. Motion passed with all in favor.

Yes: 16 - Prenger, Cover, Cutchlow, San Juan-Rodriguez, Erickson, Rashid, Glaser, Harline, Keithahn, Koenig, Koldobskiy, Kurukulasuriya, Mahto, McKee, Morris and Olmsted

Excused: Cole

Absent: 2 - Camp and Kraus

Non-Voting: 4 - Leuchtmann, Rowe, Lennon and Peters

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

This was the first meeting of the year. There were not any minutes to approve.

V. OLD BUSINESS

None.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

Missouri Sunshine Law and Public Meetings (Jose Caldera)

Attachments: Public Meetings Presentation

Board & Commission Member Guide

Missouri Sunshine Law

Jose Caldera discussed the Missouri Sunshine Law and public meetings. Specific topics that were discussed during Mr. Caldera's presentation include: information about public meetings (including the rules for quorum); public votes and records; meeting notice, agenda, and minutes; and closed meetings.

Policies and Procedures

Attachments: YAC Meeting Presentation September 11, 2018

Participation Guidelines for Youth Advisory Council

YAC 2018-2019 Meeting Schedule

Chris Clubine discussed policies and procedures pertaining to the Youth Advisory Council. Mr. Clubine specifically covered the following in his presentation: the duties, responsibilities, and purpose of the Youth Advisory Council; member participation guidelines and attendance expectations; and meeting dates, times, and location for the 2018-2019 year.

Election of Officers

Chair

Vice Chair

Secretary/ Treasury

Media Coordinator

Riley Cole and Amanda Kurukilasuriya both expressed an interest in the chair position. There was member consensus to elect Riley Cole as Chair. The action was approved by roll call vote.

Yes: 13 - Camp, Cover, Cutchlow, San Juan-Rodriguez, Erickson, Rashid, Glaser, Harline, Keithahn, Koldobskiy, Mahto, McKee and Morris

No: 3 - Prenger, Koenig and Olmsted

Excused: 1 - Cole

Absent: 1 - Kraus

Abstain: 1 - Kurukulasuriya

Non-Voting: 4 - Leuchtmann, Rowe, Lennon and Peters

Memphis Cutchlow made a motion to elect Will Cover as the Vice Chair. Rachael Erickson seconded the motion. The motion passed with all in favor.

Yes: 17 - Prenger, Camp, Cover, Cutchlow, San Juan-Rodriguez, Erickson, Rashid, Glaser, Harline, Keithahn, Koenig, Koldobskiy, Kurukulasuriya, Mahto, McKee, Morris and Olmsted

Excused: 1 - Cole

Absent: 1 - Kraus

Non-Voting: 4 - Leuchtmann, Rowe, Lennon and Peters

Will Cover made a motion to elect Memphis Cutchlow for the Secretary/ Treasurer position. James Glaser seconded the motion. The motion passed with all in favor.

Yes: 17 - Prenger, Camp, Cover, Cutchlow, San Juan-Rodriguez, Erickson, Rashid, Glaser, Harline, Keithahn, Koenig, Koldobskiy, Kurukulasuriya, Mahto, McKee, Morris and

Olmsted

Excused: 1 - Cole

Absent: 1 - Kraus

4 - Leuchtmann, Rowe, Lennon and Peters Non-Voting:

> Will Cover made a motion to elect Amanda Kurukulasuriya as Media Coordinator. Rachael Erickson seconded the motion. The motion passed with all in favor.

Yes: 17 - Prenger, Camp, Cover, Cutchlow, San Juan-Rodriguez, Erickson, Rashid, Glaser, Harline, Keithahn, Koenig, Koldobskiy, Kurukulasuriya, Mahto, McKee, Morris and Olmsted

Excused: 1 -Cole

Absent: 1 -Kraus

Non-Voting: 4 - Leuchtmann, Rowe, Lennon and Peters

Topics for Consideration for 2018-2019 year

Members brainstormed and discussed topics/ issues that they were interested in working on during this school year. The topics/ issues that were discussed include: environment/ sustainability; substance abuse; achievement gap; youth homelessness; inclusivity/ kindness (with specific mention of being mindful of this for future recruitment efforts; political process engagement (with specific mention of voter registration efforts); dating violence; and gun violence. This topic will continue to be discussed at future meetings.

VII. GENERAL COMMENTS BY PUBLIC, MEMBERS AND STAFF

Ron Rowe, Youth Community Coalition, made Youth Advisory Council members aware of the following: (1) 2018 Youth Community Coalition Legistative Forum (which is scheduled to take place on September 25th from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm at Douglas High School); (2) CoMoGo app (which is an app that is being developed for listing events going on in the community for youth); and (3) youth stress reduction pilot project (tai chi) in Ashland.

VIII. NEXT MEETING DATE

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, October 9, 2018 from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm in City Hall-Conference Room 1A/ 1B.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:53 pm.

Will Cover made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:53 pm. Lydia Olmstead seconded the motion. The motion passed with all in favor.

Yes: 18 - Prenger, Camp, Cover, Cutchlow, San Juan-Rodriguez, Erickson, Rashid, Glaser, Harline, Keithahn, Koenig, Koldobskiy, Kraus, Kurukulasuriya, Mahto, McKee,

Morris and Olmsted

Excused: 1 - Cole

Non-Voting: 4 - Leuchtmann, Rowe, Lennon and Peters